[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Re: (TFT) Weapon Multiplier --> Repost



> >From: "John Paul Bakshoian" 
> >One example of why it wouldn't be HTH is boxing.  In 
> >the ring, a boxer is in his own hex.  
>
> DMG II wrote:
> Exactly.  Boxing has rules.  Civilize rules.  Most combat 
> is not so polite.  I'm sure a boxer would want others not 
> to grapple them but if they are close enough to punch, the 
> other person is close enough to grab.

Attend, attend!  Let us consult the holy writ to clear up 
this matter:

Advanced Melee, COMBAT WITH BARE HANDS, DAGGERS, CESTUS, OR CLUB:

"The damage a figure does in bare-handed combat is ruled by 
his strength.  In unarmed regular combat, a human or humanoid 
fighter does damage as follows:
ST 8 or less: 1 - 4 
[etc.]
Other kinds of bare-handed combat do more damage. A fighter 
in HAND-TO-HAND COMBAT does the appropriate amount of damage 
for his ST as above, plus 1..."

So sayeth the Great Work.

So as you can see, in TFT you can strike, unarmed, into an
adjacent hex.  This is considered 'regular combat'.  In the
rules for HTH combat, moving into someone's hex is needed
to initiate HTH combat.  Such a move puts both combatants 
on the ground.  Basically if the fighting you're doing keeps
you both on your feet, it's regular.  Down on the ground,
HTH.  These are two different things, and even do different
amounts of damage.

Also note that the rule regarding engagement in AM 
doesn't say anything about weapons:

"The concept of 'engaged' is used to identify figures who are actually involved in combat, and standing next to an enemy who endangers them physically."

And being able to reach out and smack them for damage 
according to ST would seem to fall into the 'endangers
them physically' category.

The later example: 

"In certain cases, the GM may declare that a figure is not 
engaged -i.e., a knight in plate mail is not endangered by 
an unarmed thirteen-year-old girl, so he is not engaged by 
her"

Is obviously a special case, and should not be generalized
to mean that the same knight is not engaged by an adjacent
250# bruiser who happens to be unarmed. 
=====
Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"