[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: (TFT) Questions about forcing retreat
From: John J Hyland <johnnyboytmm@juno.com>
Wait, in order to force retreat you have to be the one who inflicts melee
damage, which I thought would preclude disengaging, as you only get one
action per turn.
John,
Right.
I suppose you could rule that the forcing retreat overrides the engagement
rules
Not necessary.
Before this becomes two confusing here are two specific examples. As
always, this is just the "way I play". As such it may be totally wrong.
Bart has a goblin directly in front of him and an orc at his back.
Both the orc and goblin either miss or do zero damage this turn. Bart hits
and wounds the goblin. At the end of the turn after all movements and
actions, bart gets to forceback the goblin. Optionally he may follow up the
goblin occupying the hex just emptied.
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ gob \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ bart \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ orc \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
positions during actions
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ gob \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ bart \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ orc \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
force back
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ gob \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ bart \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ orc \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
optional follow up
The way I read this, bart is still engaged. But by the goblin, and not
the orc. The orc is not cheated of his attack, because he already got one
during actions (at Dx+4), and next turn he can easily re-engage bart.
As to the defencive line...
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ gob2 \_____/
/ \ / \
/ gob1 \_____/ gob3 \
\ / \ /
\_____/ bart \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
positions during actions
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ gob \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ gob1 \_____/ gob2 \
\ / \ /
\_____/ bart \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
force back
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ gob \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ bart \_____/
/ \ / \
/ gob1 \_____/ gob3 \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
/ \ / \
/ \_____/ \
\ / \ /
\_____/ \_____/
optional follow up
Weather or not bart is still engaged by gob1 & gob3 at this point
doesn't matter. They can easily change facing next turn to re-engage. But
for Bart to be able to punch into the line like this (into not through) all
three goblins had to do zero damage, and Bart had to hit and wound.
David Michael Grouchy II
_________________________________________________________________
From the hottest toys to tips on keeping fit this winter, youll find a
range of helpful holiday info here.
http://special.msn.com/network/happyholidays.armx
=====
Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"