[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) First attacks in HTH

At 01:57 PM 11/23/06 -0800, Lloyd wrote:
This sounds very reasonable to me. So, shifting into HTH is an attack that occurs in adjDX order; e.g. the attacker does not get to also strike in the same turn. But if the defender has not done an action yet he would be able to strike in HTH that turn?

Yes, that's my interpretation of Advanced Melee (AM) exactly.

There are some grey areas with HTH subject to interpretation, but I don't think a HTH losing his action is one of them.

The grey areas with HTH:

* At least one printing of Melee (but I don't see that AM says so anywhere) say that the attacker also gets to attack on the turn he initiates HTH, if he succeeds on entering HTH. I could see ruling either way, though of course it should be agreed before playing if possible.

Or do I have it wrong about attempting HTH being an attack...? Since it is also supposed to be possible to move into HTH (given higher MA, back to wall, etc...) then I guess both figures would get to strike in HTH that turn.

* I think moving into HTH during the movement phase is a grey area, for AM. It would be more simple and streamlined (and reasonable, I think) to interpret AM as saying HTH initiation is always an action and never done during movement. It also seems fairer to figures who don't want to get forced into HTH. However, though I don't have my older printing of plain Melee handy, the one at hand ("Revised Editon by Guy McLimore and Howard Thompson" in PDF from the web) does explicitly say that there are two ways to initiate HTH: "A Disengaged figure picks option (a) to initiate HTH combat, moving onto the enemy's hex during movement and attacking during combat. An Engaged figure picks action (k), entering the enemy's hex AND attacking during combat." And I do seem to remember we played that way, at least sometimes. HOWEVER, it's important to remember that both AM and Melee also clearly say that a figure must stop when entering an enemy Front hex, so if someone tries to enter HTH combat during Movement, they can only attempt to do so via a Side or Rear hex. Also, if a figure is stopped during movement by a Front hex, they won't be able to attempt HTH that turn unless they moved half or less their MA to get there, because otherwise they get no attack option.

* Since both AM and Melee say HTH initiation is an attack, one might also rule that initiating HTH from the side or rear also requires the attacker to move less than half his MA. This would limit the weird-looking move of figures running all the way around someone to jump them from behind. I can't really imagine that working in real life unless the target was distracted into staying facing one direction (e.g., was engaged by someone else).

* For conditions to initiate HTH, that "Revised" printing of plain Melee also says "side or rear" rather than AM's "from the rear".

* AM also says (or strongly implies) that an engaged attacker is limited to attempt HTH against one of the figures who is engaging him. Since entering HTH is an attack, and attacks can only be done against targets in Front hexes, I'd say the reverse is also true: HTH can only be attempted on someone in a Front hex.

Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"