[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
(TFT) Re: TFT Digest V4 #403
- To: tft@brainiac.com
- Subject: (TFT) Re: TFT Digest V4 #403
- From: David Bofinger <bofinger.david@gmail.com>
- Date: Thu, 4 Sep 2014 01:11:32 +0000
- Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date:message-id:subject:from:to :content-type; bh=/jNx8quyXTI6A4tvoDvIXxLCvBq9tWmuWAku/YbZ4rQ=; b=jgDMhCBIpvfxqDAjlNveRAKvZZhT15U19O3P9eZM0W8UptI0b1WjQDKsOL90UGuadi nYdzvq15Af4Oz1NSvAIHjGM1iFvblCuKssUCsOgC5GB1uLfDgi2h9ukiM93P38iLSvXo r6d6QLiru+yclI3967CHxkiIqmRN05ox0OkaplpgM7fr8XbWuDFh+JxfCcm+tyW6clwS pWy2ZflA/Jh2jN/xqO6L+zlfKHc5HFMD5dLQoBpAfnsYIxbRmxwtyltyRyWyp7c/3DcC yJ07cO9A2jeVH9z2BeHZKM3Xh0qcxJb1wbmsnfiRD6UuW0NDcEZ++xDt+LDLo1I0tg8H igug==
- In-reply-to: <201409040019.s840JCF1029447@zappa.brainiac.com>
- References: <201409040019.s840JCF1029447@zappa.brainiac.com>
- Reply-to: tft@brainiac.com
- Sender: tft-admin@brainiac.com
My house rule for disengagement was:
* disengages happen before attacks
* hostile figures engaged with the withdrawing figure can try to pursue,
i.e. move a hex forward to stay engaged.
* chance of pursuit depends on relative DX, relative MA, or both, I forget
the details. If you miss the roll you can't pursue but nothing else bad
happens.
* engagement by other figures can prevent pursuit.
----
David
On 04/09/2014 10:19 AM, "TFT Digest" <tft-owner@brainiac.com> wrote:
>
> TFT Digest Wednesday, September 3 2014 Volume 04 : Number 403
>
>
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Date: Tue, 2 Sep 2014 09:15:44 -0700
> From: Rick Smith <rick_ww@lightspeed.ca>
> Subject: Re: (TFT) Disengaging - Revision in Melee
>
> Thanks Mike!
>
> Warm regards, Rick.
>
> On 2014-09-02, at 8:38 AM, $mike cremer wrote:
>
> > As it happens, I acquired all five editions of Melee (and all four
> Wizards)
> > to help untangle the changes. I OCRd plain text copies of the rules,
> which
> > makes comparing them much simpler :-)
> >
> > Melee first through third edition (SJ):
> >
> > Note that an enemy with a DX higher than yours will be able to strike at
> >> you on the turn you disengage, since his attack phase comes before
> yours.
> >> An enemy with a lower DX will not have a chance to strike at you if you
> >> disengage away from him.
> >
> >
> > Melee fourth and fifth edition (HT):
> >
> > Note that an enemy figure with a adjDX greater than your figure's adjDX
> >> will be able to strike at your figure during the turn in which you
> >> disengage. An enemy figure with an adjDX less than or equal to your
> >> figure's adjDX must add the difference between the figures' adjDXs (if
> an
> > y)
> >> to his "To Hit Roll" in order to hit your figure.
> >
> >
> > $mike
> >
> > p.s. Working on AM/AW/ITL, but it's slow going...
>
> =====
> Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
> Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
> "unsubscribe tft"
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Date: Wed, 03 Sep 2014 16:03:28 -0700
> From: Peter von Kleinsmid <pvk@oz.net>
> Subject: Re: (TFT) Disengaging - Revision in Melee
>
> I think, since we didn't pay much attention to new versions of Melee
> after Advanced Melee came out, I didn't hear about the disengagement
> revision. It didn't make it to Interplay or the Codex, did it?
>
> I don't remember it ever being a problem in play without that
> revision. Sure the higher-DX figure can avoid being attacked, but it
> also takes his entire action to only move one hex. It's not like you
> can attack and then disengage.
>
> My feeling, from a realism and fairness perspective, is that if
> someone is using their action to back out of combat, and someone
> follows them to attack, that the disengager might also deserve a
> chance to counterattack that person. Stepping back a hex as an action
> wouldn't, I think, give a disadvantage in such a fight.
>
> I.e. If I were to use this, I would add something like: If a lower-DX
> player opts to try to attack the disengaging figure, they may do so
> at the specified penalty. If they do so, but the disengager is left
> in condition to fight (not knocked down, disarmed, etc), then the
> disengager may also counter-attack them at the same penalty.
>
> PvK
>
> =====
> Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
> Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
> "unsubscribe tft"
>
> ------------------------------
>
> End of TFT Digest V4 #403
> *************************
>
> =====
> Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
> Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
> "unsubscribe tft-digest"
>
=====
Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"