[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) Flying combat

Hi Aidan,

Per Advanced Melee:

"Most flying creatures may attack foes on the ground. This attack will also be. at -4 DX (the flier is either hovering or taking a swipe as it flies past; neither is especially accurate) unless the attacking flier is a small creature (Dragonet or smaller) attacking a much larger target. Dragon-fire and thrown spells may also be used from the air without DX-."

"Some fliers will drop rocks or weapons on their foes. Spears and axes may be dropped at -4 to hit but do +2 damage if they connect."

What I get from the comment in Aerial combat re engagement is that combatants on the ground cannot engage a flyer except in enclosed spaces ("The addition of the third dimension does allow fliers to cross over fires, walls, shadows, and foes where there is enough room. "). However I would allow a flyer to engage a foe on the ground. And they would both be at -4DX. Reading the rule above re dropped spears and axes, it seems that it would be a whole lot more accurate (as well as damaging) to "drop" the weapon than to "throw" it. Coments welcome.

I do think that your javelin-using flyers should seriously consider the Thrown Weapons talent. I also usually create flying things as pretty high DX - with a penalty for fighting on the ground. And you are giving me some nasty ideas, I think it's time to introduce the flying monkeys using net and trident....



At 01:43 PM 11/3/2006, you wrote:
We were experimenting with flying creatures attacking ground creatures with javelins. The rules indicate that the person on the ground has a -4 when attacking a flying creature. It also says that when flying creatures attacks another flier, they too have a -4 DX penalty.

What I can't find is the following:

1. When a flying creature attacks a figure on the ground when unengaged (ie missile, thrown or pole weapon) does the flying creature get a -4 DX adjustment as well?

2. If the flying creature and the creature on the ground are engaged, does either get a -4DX?

We figured that the flying creature would also have a -4DX adjustment when unengaged but weren't sure about if they were engaged. Additionally, if the flying creature is throwing a javeling the negative adjustments make it very difficult to hit the enemy with any consistency. One argument for not requiring the flier to have a -4 against a ground enemy is that 1) it's not in the rules and 2)they would be more proficient at this type of combat. Against this position was the fact that when a flier fights a flier, they too get the -4DX penalty. Why should there be a difference? Also, when fliers fight fliers, the combat effectiveness/ineffectiveness is somewhat relative.

Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"

Eric A. Coles
Finance and Administration Manager
Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science
phone: 212 854-2990
email: eac42@columbia.edu
fax: 212 864-0104 =====
Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"