[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) More on 8 hits

---- Peter von Kleinsmid <pvk@oz.net> wrote: 
> >On to more esoteric subjects ... suppose I have a ST 12, DX 12,
> >IQ 8 fighter.  If my fighter gets hit for 8 points of damage ( a
> >significant smack ), should the fighter have to roll to remain
> >standing, as per a shield bash?  (no ST requirement, simply a
> >3D6 roll vs DX)  One could argue that a hard enough hit is
> >unbalancing and this should be represented somehow.  Or not.
> >:)
> Why is this esoteric? It happens all the time, no? I thought in TFT
> canon, 8 points of damage in one attack to a humanoid target was 
> an automatic knock to prone, no? (The only DX roll was if a figure 
> falls next to a pit, to avoid falling in the pit, as well.)

The rules say that if a figure takes 8 or more hits in a single turn, it
falls down.  Now I've always interpreted this as taking 8 or more
points of damage - ie, after the effects of protection (armor, shield,
tough skin, etc) are applied.  What I am wondering is if a figure 
should be affected when a weapon delivers 8 or more points of 
damage, regardless of how many hits get through the protection.

Does that help?

Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"