[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
(TFT) TRAMPLE Questions
- To: email@example.com
- Subject: (TFT) TRAMPLE Questions
- From: Sgt Hulka <firstname.lastname@example.org>
- Date: Sun, 13 Jul 2008 14:10:55 -0700 (PDT)
- Domainkey-signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.com; h=Received:X-Mailer:Date:From:Reply-To:Subject:To:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Message-ID; b=t+xFl8aATk+3VSe0rc5YAg6PDmbJJDT6v/9Ki1W2YOHqikj5I8x227Izjq7dbtw1S0T3FnBTJFx7jELHt5kyjhinIcEFAkDmUV5tr2fLSZONNe479VWE8m6YgNsCDp0ypTHAeMIkuCQRudnmhLb68Z1b76X2g3voWN9uDKbuGQ0=;
- Reply-to: email@example.com
- Sender: firstname.lastname@example.org
I've been playing Grail Quest lately and so far I'm pretty impressed with the
Mounted Combat rules from Advanced Melee. However, I just wanted to make sure
I'm reading/interpreting them correctly...
A horse is a two-hex figure. It becomes ENGAGED as soon as it is adjacent to a
one-hex figure. If it was UNENGAGED before becoming adjacent, it must
So a mounted figure that travels seven hexes or fewer can not both charge and
trample in the same movement, because as soon as it is adjacent to its
opponent it must halt (so it can't continue the extra hex to trample). It must
wait until the next turn to trample, when it can use its "shift" to trample
However, a horse that travels 8 hexes or further during movement is treated as
a three-hex figure. A three-hex figure isn't ENGAGED by a single-hex figure.
So a mounted figure can charge 8 hexes or more and both attack and trample the
one-hex figure it's charging. Unless the one-hex figure has a mate standing
next to him in which case the horse is suddenly ENGAGED again and has to halt
before the trample.
So taking the above and applying it to a practical circumstance...
Say we have a mounted Knight with a calvary lance and a warhorse. The warhorse
has an MA of 24, but that's reduced to 18 when carrying a rider. So the
mounted Knight has an effective move of 18.
Meanwhile, the knight's opponent is a man-at-arms with a bill (halberd).
If the mounted knight were to attempt to charge the man-at-arms from fewer
than 8 hexes distance he'd be in a world of hurt. The man-at-arms would not
move, and since he's receiving a charge he'd be at +2 Dex most likely attack
the charging knight first. That +2 Dex would be negated by the -2 Dex to hit a
mounted figure, but the man-at-arms could sensibly choose to simply attack the
horse instead. If he hits, it's not unlikely that he could do enough damage
with his 4 dice roll to knock the horse right down and dismount the rider.
However, if the mounted knight charged from eight hexes or further, the knight
does not become engaged by the man-at-arms. The knight can continue his
movement onto the man-at-arms' hex. Immediately, DURING THE MOVEMENT PHASE,
the man-at-arms must save versus his dex or be knocked down.
If the man-at-arms' save is successful, he is moved one hex (preferably out of
the direct front hex to avoid the lance) and the later combat is resolved as
above, with the man-at-arms probably striking first.
If the man-at-arms' save is unsuccessful, he is prone underneath the horse. At
the end of the movement phase, the knight can declare himself on the rear hex
of the horse, so that the trampled man-at-arms is directly in front of him.
During the subsequent combat phase, the horse gets to trample the
man-at-arms (dex or less for 1+1 damage), and kick him (dex plus four or less
for 2+1 damage), but the knight doesn't get to stab him, because the
man-at-arms is no longer directly in front of BOTH the knight and the horse.
If the knight had a spear, instead of a cavalry lance, he could attack the
man-at-arms (dex plus two...plus three if horseman or plus four if expert
horseman...for 2+4 damage).
Do I have that about right?
Post to the entire list by writing to email@example.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to firstname.lastname@example.org with the message body