[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) Push & Trample

The first part on p.4 is more important, I think.  

AM p.4 - A multi-hex figure (giant, dragon, etc.) may end it's movement, or take it's "shift," by "pushing back" any number of one-hex figures, as long as the combined ST (at the moment) of the figures being pushed back is less than the figure doing the pushing.  The large figure moves one Hex and stops.  No figure can be pushed back more than one hex per turn.  

So, you're right that the text contradicts itself, unless you see "pushing back" as an additional option for a very strong multiple hex creature above and beyond trampling on a shift.  

In our world, we play that multi-hex figures can opt to either "attempt to push back" (if their current strength is sufficient) or "attempt to trample".  Normally the multi-hex creature will try to trample because it's an easy way to do damage and force their opponents to lose their ready weapons.  But if the 7 hex dragon is still strong enough, the option to push other creatures backward a hex might be preferable.  For example, you might be fighting on the edge of a cliff.  Yes, it would suck to be pushed off the cliff.  

The pushing rule also suggests that there are additional ways for the larger creatures to move when fully engaged that allow them to stay engaged while shifting.  So long as they stay engaged (once they're considered engaged), they can shift in multiple ways either trampling or pushing people back as they turn.  As most of you know, I'm sure, you have to engage a 7 hex creature "just right" in order to keep members of the party from being trampled on a shift even after the creature is engaged.

We also play that the trample and push options are available to multi-hex creatures when they disengage as an action (weak rules described on AM p.18).  So, if the 7 hex dragon you're fighting wants to attempt to disengage during it's action, it can shift away from one or multiple figures pushing or trampling others in the process.  

Additionally, I have another house rule for 4 and 7 hex creatures that allows them to "rear up" and stand on hind legs/tail as if they were shifting, occupying either 3 or 4 hexes in this new posture.  I also allow them to drop back down to the ground trampling in the process.  But, I don't allow them to shift facing without first dropping back down.  When a 4 hex creature is on it's rear legs, it is an additional hex or two tall.  And when a 7 hex creature is on it's rears, it is 2 to 4 hexes taller.  Both creatures can attack normally in either posture into the current front hexes of their posture.  

Good Fortune,

----- Original Message ----
From: Sgt Hulka <hulkasgt@yahoo.com>
To: tft@brainiac.com
Sent: Thursday, June 11, 2009 10:16:30 AM
Subject: (TFT) Push & Trample


"The small figure(s) that it moved onto must immediately make a
saving roll: 3 dice against DX. If they succeed, they step to any
adjacent hex and may act normally that turn. If they fail, they
FALL in any adjacent hex and may do nothing else that turn..."


"When a large figure overruns a smaller one, the small
figure is considered to be lying on the ground under the larger
one, and may be trampled...Suppose that a giant has just advanced onto Eric the Emaciated to push him back. Eric misses his saving roll and
falls underfoot..."

The example from Page 28 seems to directly contradict the rule described on Page 5.

In other words, Page 5 states that a pushed figure falls in an ADJACENT hex. But the example on Page 28 states that a pushed figure falls UNDERFOOT.
Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"