[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) Death Test 1, take 4: SURVIVED!

At 18:38 -0400 10/3/11, Sgt. Hulka wrote:
Because the hand to hand resolution takes place in the movement phase, the pole arm users are already on the ground and either unarmed or armed with daggers by the time the combat phase comes around, erego no polearm set versus charge attack.

This maybe should be a FAQ. Sgt. Hulka's interpretation of the rules makes some sense and the (IMHO ambiguous) rules can certainly be read to support it, but we typically play by a slightly different one. In our interpretation, there is a critical difference depending on whether the attacker moves into a front hex of the target during his approach or not.

If the HTH attacker moves into a side or rear hex of his target during movement and has one more MA left before he exceeds half of his MA, he may continue onto the target's hex. The target gets the one-die roll (re-rolling if a 6 comes up and the attacker came through the rear hex). This relies on a close reading of AM pp. 15, "To initiate HTH combat, a figure moves onto the enemy figure's hex. If the attacking figure is disengaged, this is a regular move."

If the HTH attacker moves into a front hex of his target during movement, he is engaged at that point and ends movement at that point. In that case, his attempt to engage in HTH counts as his action, and happens in the normal sequence with other actions. That means a pole-weapon user would get his charge-attack first action against the oncoming HTH attacker, and may *also* roll a 6 during the HTH attempt, getting a second (but not doubled) hit on the attacker.

We like this interpretation because it "makes sense" to us. Tackling someone from behind for HTH during movement disrupts any chance they have to make a charge-attack (or other attack) during the action phase. This seems OK. However, if you attack them from in front, the pole weapons' extra reach means they always have a chance to impale you before you ever get close. A normal weapon user may or may not get to strike before you get into HTH and grapple - it depends on your relative adjDX. Still making sense to me. It makes HTH users very powerful if they have numerical superiority and/or a tactical advantage such that they can run around and attack from behind. On the other hand, charging in from a front hex offers them no such advantage; in fact it may prove to be impossible if none of the four conditions at the beginning of the "HAND-TO-HAND COMBAT" section apply. If the target has open space behind him, MA equal or better than the HTH attacker, and is not willing to agree, a would-be HTH assailant in a front hex is reduced to either a bare-handed (or dagger) normal attack, or disengage (and the latter is impossible if he just charge-attacked).

Note that a HTH attacker that started the turn engaged "...may shift onto a figure engaging him for HTH...", so he can still make it into HTH from in front on the second turn (if he still feels like it). The sequence would then be:

Turn 1) charge attack, move into front hex and stop. Action is normal bare-hand attack (since target refuses HTH). Target gets a weapon attack which is automatically first if a pole weapon, or by adjDX order if not.

Turn 2) shift onto target for HTH during movement phase. Target gets the 1-die roll, possibly repelling attack with a 5 or 6, else falling in HTH. Target does not get his weapon attack that turn.

Hope this is useful! I also hope this rules interpretation isn't ridiculous; we think it's more or less realistic and like playing by it; but opposing opinions welcome.
						- Mark     210-379-4635
Large Asteroids headed toward planets
inhabited by beings that don't have
technology adequate to stop them:

				Think of it as Evolution in Fast-Forward.
Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"