[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: (TFT) HTH rules question in HTH.
We have always played it that the defender gets an automatic hit
with what ever weapon they were wielding. If they were unarmed,
they do punch damage.
Warm regards, Rick.
On 2015-09-02, at 7:28 PM, Kirk Woller wrote:
> Hello everyone,
> I have been playing TFT since 1977 and we have generally been playing
> correctly, IMO, but a young friend of mine was re-reading the rules in
> anticipation of a game with his friends and had a question for me about
> HTH combat.
> On page 15 of Advanced Melee under Hand To Hand combat it states: "On a
> roll of 6, the defender does not drop his weapon, and AUTOMATICALLY hits
> the attacker. This hit happens immediately. The defender can still
> make an attack (or take other action) that turn."
> We had always interpreted this to mean that the attacker takes ONE
> PHYSICAL HIT against his ST, regardless of armour, etc. and of course,
> that is his action for the turn.
> My friend, however, was thinking that the defender gets an automatic
> *attack* with whatever weapon he is wielding, as his "hit".
> Does anyone know how this is to be played? Is the "hit" mentioned a hit
> of one point of damage, or an attack by the defender that is
> automatically successful (no roll required), with the damage determined
> by a normal roll of the dice for the particular weapon or bare hands
> that the defender is wielding?
> If you don't know for sure, how do you play it?
> Can anyone cite any examples of play that clearly indicate how this
> situation is to be handled according to the rules?
> Post to the entire list by writing to firstname.lastname@example.org.
> Unsubscribe by mailing to email@example.com with the message body
> "unsubscribe tft"
Post to the entire list by writing to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Unsubscribe by mailing to email@example.com with the message body