[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) Spear vs. Shortsword maneuvers

Okay sorry about that I just checked my rule book and we had made the cha
nge to three hexes as a house rule.  The reason was that the physics just
 don't work if I rush from 4 feet away I haven't generated enough force. 
 You simply can't build up to the speed in that amount of space even with
 a sharp stick. 




 In that case the only time you would not get the charge is where sword g
ot initiative from outside 5 hexes,  had spear move first then ran to a s
ide hex (certainly possible but not guaranteed), and then on the next ini
tiative roll sword also wins and shifts into the front hexes making spear
 engaged and unable to charge.  If using these rules it makes avoiding a 
charge very difficult.



 Again I have always used 3 hexes in the general direction (no straight h
ex line limit) for charges so getting within 3 hexes negated the charge o
r hitting (actual damage) them from the side or rear (another house rule 
to avoid the unrealistic reactions).









                 Edward Kroeten
                   Farmers Agent   

                   7100 Stevenson Blvd Suite 105
                   Fremont, CA 94538

                 Office Phone 510-646-1500     

                   Mobile Phone 510-579-0135
                   Fax 510-438-6875
                   Website: www.kroeteninsurance.com  





















 ------ Original Message ------
   Received: 10:56 AM PDT, 10/20/2015
   From: PvK <pvk@oz.net>
   To: <tft@brainiac.com>
   Subject: Re: (TFT) Spear vs. Shortsword maneuvers




     In Advanced Melee anyway, if two figures start out not adjacent, or 
if they start adjacent but one figure moves away and back (even only one 
hex) then it is a Charge Attack situation.

       Advanced Melee also specifically says that a pole-weapon user enga
ged from behind, if he hasn't moved yet that turn, can just change facing
 and get the +2DX double damage charge defense. Best sword can do is not 
charge himself, so spear doesn't get the +2DX. See Advanced Melee page 14
, right column.

       So in Advanced Melee, there's no way to maneuver around a charge s
ituation even by winning initiative twice in a row in a one-on-one duel. 
In Advanced Melee, it'll be a charge 100% of the time.

       It's not quite as explicit in plain Melee, but it seems to me this
 is likely SJ's original intent there, too.

       --- jlv61560@yahoo.com wrote:

       I don't think a spear gets a charge if he's actually engaged.  He'
d ha
       ve to disengage first and get some distance.



              Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
       Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message 
       "unsubscribe tft"





This e-mail message and any documents accompanying this transmission may co
ntain confidential information and are intended solely for the addressee (s)
 named above. If you are not the intended addressee/recipient, any use of, d
isclosure, copying, distribution, or reliance on the contents of this e-mail
 information is strictly prohibited. Please reply to the sender advising of 
the error in transmission and immediately delete/destroy the message and any
 accompanying documents.

Farmers Group, Inc. and its subsidiaries and affiliates, including Farmers 
Financial Solutions, LLC, reserve the right to monitor and review the conten
t of all e-mail communications and attachments sent or received by or from t
his address and to retain them in accordance with the applicable regulatory 
requirements. Securities are offered through Farmers Financial Solutions, LL
C, 30801 Agoura Road, Building 1, Agoura Hills, California 91301. Member FIN

Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"