[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

(TFT) Holding spears and holding scrolls

Those of you who know, is it possible to use a spear two-handed and still use/hold a shield? If I played live-action (with padded weapons), I would use a shield and a 5 ft spear this way. Hold the spear in right hand, have shield strapped to left arm with left wrist through the second strap and hand holding spear. It may not be as accurate, and while doing it the shield would only be partially useful. But in a charge where I'm going to be dropping the spear after the rush, I'll have my shield to protect while bringing out my mace.

Also, it seems to me that the same idea could be applied to a magic user reading a scroll. He's got a rapier (or torch, etc) in his right hand, holding the curled scroll in his left hand. He now takes his right hand (with rapier) and catches the bottom of the scroll and uncurls it. He reads scroll. The magic comes out of the scroll (or whereever and does its thing.

Why the moratorium on holding things while reading a scroll?

Hail Melee,

John Paul

From: Nils K Hammer <nh0g+@andrew.cmu.edu>
Subject: (TFT) Re: TFT Digest V1 #321
Date: Mon, 21 Feb 2000 16:21:52 -0500 (EST)

The pilae are carried in the shield hand, and thrown before contact
with the enemy. I figured that carrying excess weapons gave you a
minus, just like the (gurps?) rule about pilae stuck in your shield.
This is unimportant, since as soon as they are thrown or dropped, you
are free of the minus.

I have also seen people in live action games hold thier axe in the
shield hand and take it after throwing a spear. This is much faster
than drawing a weapon.


Get Your Private, Free Email at http://www.hotmail.com

Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"