[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) Spear vs. Shortsword maneuvers

I don't think a spear gets a charge if he's actually engaged.  He'd ha
ve to disengage first and get some distance.

      From: Robert Ward <rob@dolwen.com>
 To: tft@brainiac.com 
 Sent: Tuesday, October 20, 2015 6:34 AM
 Subject: Re: (TFT) Spear vs. Shortsword maneuvers
I did try this a little at home but I still find in spear vs sword, the
spear gets a charge in 100% of battles in a clear melee arena, barring
an error by the spear. Talking ST 11, adjDX 13, MA 10 for both spear and

The only danger I can find is: spear moves first and leaves a separation
to sword of either 6 or 7 hexes. This separation allows sword moving
second to engage spear from the side/rear and prevent a charge next
turn. If spear moves first and ends his move separated by 8-10 hexes,
sword can still engage spear, but cannot reach spear's side or rear.
Therefore sword is in spear's front hex and spear gets a charge. 

Let's set aside disengaging, jabbing, and forced retreats for a moment.
I think for the most part these all work in favor of spear, but let's
just set aside for now. I think I'm even happy to forget about arena
walls for now. 

Barring a mistake, the only sequence I can find in which spear does not
execute a charge attack action is that by the original rules attacks are
always resolved in order of adjDX. So with both spear and sword at adjDX
13, 50% sword strikes first, and then if sword does 8 or more damage
(let's say a third of the time), then he knocks spear down before spear
can attack. That should happen about 15% of the time. That is, spear
would have had a charge attack, but never got to execute the action. But
I have a feeling what you are talking about is related to position and

Are you assuming a 3-hex charge rule or something like that?


On Tue, Oct 20, 2015, at 07:52 AM, Edward kroeten wrote:
> Again that doesn't work against short sword they have equal dx. ��Also if
> you knock someone down you finish them the next round.  Multip
le charges
> in the arena? Not likely. Play a couple battles an you will fi
nd that
> spear will not have greater than 50% charges.
> Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S®4, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone
> -------- Original message --------
> From: Peter von Kleinsmid <pvk@oz.net> 
> Date: 10/19/2015  9:42 PM  (GMT-08:00) 
> To: tft@brainiac.com 
> Subject: Re: (TFT) Spear vs. Shortsword maneuvers 
> I think it's 75%, but I'd say it's reasonable to have it 100% with 
> the option to have it happen or not.
> It's possible for it to happen again, too, in a real fight, since 
> disengagement or falling down can give the chance to charge again. 
> Falling could be coded in, but disengagement is sort of a judgement 
> call... well, actually, I guess if the pole-user has higher DX than 
> the non-pole-user, it makes sense for them to disengage after a 
> charge and hope to win initiative to get another charge in... Hmm, 
> actually, in 1 vs 1 combat on an open map with no helpful obstacles, 
> my sleepy head is thinking there's no way (other than shield rush, 
> HTH, or knocking him down with damage) to force a normal engagement 
> on a pole user who has higher DX, since he can disengage before you 
> attack him in a non-charge engagement. So maybe it actually becomes 
> 100% if the pole user has higher adj DX.
> At 05:34 PM 10/19/2015, David Bofinger wrote:
> >If someone can come up with a good estimate for the chance of a first ro
> >charge, why not include that in the simulator? The current value of 100%
> >must be too high. The real value would depend on MA.
> > Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
> Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
> "unsubscribe tft"
> This e-mail message and any documents accompanying this transmission may
> contain confidential information and are intended solely for the
> addressee (s) named above. If you are not the intended
> addressee/recipient, any use of, disclosure, copying, distribution, or
> reliance on the contents of this e-mail information is strictly
> prohibited. Please reply to the sender advising of the error in
> transmission and immediately delete/destroy the message and any
> accompanying documents.
> Farmers Group, Inc. and its subsidiaries and affiliates, including
> Farmers Financial Solutions, LLC, reserve the right to monitor and review
> the content of all e-mail communications and attachments sent or received
> by or from this address and to retain them in accordance with the
> applicable regulatory requirements. Securities are offered through
> Farmers Financial Solutions, LLC, 30801 Agoura Road, Building 1, Agoura
> Hills, California 91301. Member FINRA & SIPC.
> ¶Ú-…秶*Þ–+-o,+ŠØ

Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"

Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"