[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: New Magic Items
Interesting. They create some new types of trade-offs. Money for limited-use extra ST, and re-used based on long-term delays (months). Compared to magic without them, it's powerful in a new way - someone with a bunch of talismans can use a lot more ST for spells, though it recharges very slowly. But if you just need to win an occasional magic duel, even one bronze talisman could tip the scales. A duel between two wizards with talismans could be spectacular and might be largely weighted by who had more talismans.
I would tend to want to apply the Rule of Five to them normally, or maybe to have up to five talismans count as one item.
I'm not clear about quite how the ST is available and how it recharges. Is the ST from talismans only available to one spell casting, or can you drain some of the ST and it will still have the rest left, and if the latter, when does it recharge?
--- email@example.com wrote:
From: Edward Villarreal <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Subject: New Magic Items
Date: Tue, 22 Nov 2016 09:22:55 -0600
There are three grades of Talismans. Iron, Silver, and Gold. Create
Talisman is an IQ 18 spell that also requires Greater Magic Item Creation.
Talismans look to be small highly engraved coins and all have a hole in the
All Talismans require the Goldsmith talent to engrave, the Create Talisman
Spell and Greater Magic Item Creation to enchant. But the creators can be
two separate persons, a Goldsmith and a wizard.
Talismans can be used to cast spells the wizard knows and provide some ST,
the wizard can add to this ST with his own ST. There are no DX penalties
for using a Talisman, but the wizard must still make any DX rolls
required. Normally only wizards can use a Talisman, however at 100 times
the normal cost a Talisman can be created that anyone can use. Non-wizards
are at a DX - 4 however.
Talismans do not count against the rule of five if there are no other
enchantments cast on them. If for example a Talisman also has blur cast on
it, it will count against the rule of five. This means any number of
Talisman's can be carried, within weight limitations.
Iron Talismans provide up to 4 ST points and can allow the wizard to cast
any spell the wizard knows that is at least 10 points lower than the
wizards IQ. The Talisman can be used once every 30 days. Costs 1000
Silver Talismans provide up to 8 ST points and can allow the wizard to cast
any spell the wizard knows that is at least 4 points lower than the wizards
IQ. The Talisman can be used once every 60 days. Costs 5000 Silver.
Gold Talismans provide up to 16 ST points and can allow the wizard to cast
any spell the wizard knows. The Talisman can be used once every 90 days.
Costs 20,000 Silver.
Gold Talismans can be bound into a Spellbook, it costs 40,000 Silver, plus
double the normal cost of each spell, however it takes only 5 turns to cast
instead of 60. The book can be used normally requiring the same time and
procedures as normal but once every 90 days any one spell in the book can
be cast with no other requirements in 5 turns with the Spellbook providing
up to 16 points of ST.