[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) Death Test 1, take 4: SURVIVED!

On Oct 6, 2011, at 11:56 AM, gem6868 wrote:

However, I also subscribe to the rules interpretation that says if there isn't a successful charge (3 straight hexes) or the character isn't Charged, then the polearm advantage doesn't come into effect.

Why not? I can go out in the back yard with a thick pointy stick, stand fairly close to an enemy, and putting all my weight behind it on that tiny point do a massive amount of damage to a person as I run them clean through and keep pushing really hard. It's called impaling damage and I'm sure it hurts like hell. I've always thought that the unfortunate choice of the term "charge attack" narrows a persons interpretation of what the rule is attempting to cover way too much, which is really being impaled. I don't need to run 10 or 15 feet towards a person to put my weight behind such an attack. All of my weight and strength is centered on a small point that has a better chance of puncturing armor than an edged or club like weapon does and momentum, at least to me, really doesn't add that much. In fact it might even make it harder to hit someone.

This is always an interesting subject for me every time it comes up. There is always a perceived problem with the rules that centers on the word "charge". Put in the three hex charge rule and you change the tactics of the original advanced game too much for my liking.

David O. Miller
Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"