[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: (TFT) Missile weapons & charging pole arms

>Halt!!! what I just stated may go for
>naught.  This falls under you learn something new everyday title!!! In all
>the years I played Melee, I and my players never noticed this.
>In the first paragraph under MISSILE WEAPONS on p. 14 of Advanced Melee it
>"Generally only a disengaged figure may attack with a missile weapon.  A
>figure with a missile weapon ready can get off ONE SHOT if SUDDENLY engaged,
>but must drop the missile weapon."  What is more sudden than a pole weapon
>So it seems that the missile weapon can fire at that attacker before they attack.  

No, not before.  That "final fire" rule allows the bowman to get off that last 
shot, but makes no exception for where it should go in the turn sequence.  So 
it's resolved on the bowman's DX, like most everything else.  But polearms being
used to make (or against) charge attacks are resolved before everything else, even 
those final fire missle shots, according to a strict reading of the rules.  It's 
pretty silly.

(Well, there is one exception...a HtH attempt beats a pole arm!)

Post to the entire list by writing to tft@brainiac.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to majordomo@brainiac.com with the message body
"unsubscribe tft"