[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: (TFT) line of sight: archery. Opinions?
lol. Thanks meg.
Raito: moving could also be a tactics skill or an intention declaration:
"im going to drop to one knee, so that my buddy behind me can shoot the
evil player character." this is performed during the movement phase.
Perhaps leaning sideways could limit the rest of your move to 2 hexes. Or,
X hexes. Or just kneel and stop trying to *get over on the rules*.
There are 2 different circumstances to comment on. Dx order Movement and
Bugbear adJ Dx 12, goblin dx 11. Active player gets to activate figures in
any order. So, he says, Goblin is going prone, and bug bear is shooting
over him, or he could say Bugbear is shooting, goblin is leaning, which
limits goblins movement to 2 hexes.
It could be that the goblin moved first, and then the bug bear need to fire
a shot through his HEX. In that case the goblin already expended his move,
and either was or wasn't prepared to Duck/lean. In that case Bugbear need
to roll to miss. "stay perfectly still goblin, im going to try to nail that
Well what happens if the human is trying to dodge? (4 die dex roll to
attack). Makes trying not to hit the goblin even harder.
Just some thoughts.
On Thu, Aug 29, 2013 at 11:25 AM, Meg Tapley <email@example.com>wrote:
> Roll to miss: Because accidentally shooting your buddy is lots of
> verisimilitudinous fun!
> On 8/29/13 9:58 AM, firstname.lastname@example.org wrote:
>> Sure, everyone >could< move sideways at exactly the right time for the
>> arrow to go through. BUt in a fight, it's less than likely. Hence rolling
>> to miss.
>> In your example, yes, he must roll to miss. Though in my SCA experience,
>> it's a lot more likely that A just isn't going to shoot if he'll hit o. So
>> the equivalent machanic would be rolling to miss, and if A fails, he just
>> doesn't shoot. But TFT wise, it's a roll to miss, and failure means A hit
>> More important to the current conversation would be indirect fire. At what
>> range does an archer no longer have to roll to miss intervening figures?
>> Neil Gilmore
>> Since we are on the topic of archery.
>>> I got into an argument with another player/dm. Bad Idea, I know, I'm not
>>> suppose to argue with dm.
>>> Here is the scoop... intervening figures are suppose to block line of
>>> sight, unless you declare that you rolling to miss intervening target.
>>> player is saying that saying all squares are 5ft, and there is room for
>>> archer and intervening characters to move side ways. In my opinion this
>>> takes away from the innate strategy of the game.
>>> As far as I know, there was no coordination role between the bugbear and
>>> the goblin
>>> Here's a map and a key legend.
>>> A bugbear archer
>>> o goblin footman
>>> P player character
>>> - intervening space.
>>> player says 'A' need not roll to miss 'o' in order to hit 'P'
>>> player says 'A' just need to roll a normal attack roll on 'P'
>>> Your take?
>>> Post to the entire list by writing to email@example.com.
>>> Unsubscribe by mailing to firstname.lastname@example.org with the message body
>>> "unsubscribe tft"
>> Post to the entire list by writing to email@example.com.
>> Unsubscribe by mailing to firstname.lastname@example.org with the message body
>> "unsubscribe tft"
> Post to the entire list by writing to email@example.com.
> Unsubscribe by mailing to firstname.lastname@example.org with the message body
> "unsubscribe tft"
Post to the entire list by writing to email@example.com.
Unsubscribe by mailing to firstname.lastname@example.org with the message body